Workshop draws high school student media to campus

MSU President Dr. Bob Davies welcomed the students and faculty attending the High School Media Workshop. Students were able to choose from a number of workshop topics related to student media.

The department’s annual High School Media Workshop attracted 284 students and advisers from 10 high schools to campus Sept. 22.

Students and their advisers were able to choose from a variety of sessions of interest to those working with their school’s yearbook, newspaper, TV station or website.

Sessions included: how to tell what’s CRAAP and what’s not, asking the hard questions: how to get anyone to talk to you, crafting an effective ad, capturing the game: sports still photography, latest trends in memory books, InDesign basics, designing a mass media website, a celebration of media arts: video awards and celebration, advertising sales, leadership and group communication, you can get paid for writing (careers in the media), feature writing, “going social” (media that is), looking good in print, broadcast announcing, and curating content with Storify–a trend in news story creation.

Students were able to tour The Murray State News and participate in a number of breakout meetings related to different sections of a newspaper.

Prior to the sessions an awards ceremony recognized the top entries in a variety of fields.

First place winners in the newspaper contest were: news writing, Calloway County; feature writing, Evansville Mater Dei; reviews, McCracken County; personality profiles, Calloway County; editorial and opinion, Calloway County; sports writing, Calloway County; photography, Calloway County; illustrations and graphics, McCracken County; column, Calloway County; page one design, McCracken County; feature design, Calloway County; sports design, Evansville Mater Dei; and overall design, Calloway County.

First place winners in the video contest were: news/feature package, Calloway County; sports package, Graves County; news/feature program, Calloway County; sports show, Murray; and digital shorts, Ft. Campbell.

First place winners in the yearbook competition were: best feature, McCracken County; best sports feature, Mater Dei; best sports section, Ft. Campbell; best school life section, Ft. Campbell; best cover, Mater Dei; and best overall, McCracken County.

Click here for newspaper winners, video winners,, and yearbook winners.

High schools attending the workshop were Ballard Memorial, Calloway County, Christian Fellowship, Fort Campbell, Graves County, Mater Dei, McCracken County, Murray, St. Mary, and Trigg County.

Andrew Buhler, Jostens publishing manager and JMC alum, told students about the latest trends in yearbooks.

Departmental faculty/staff conducting sessions for the workshop included: Dr. Stephanie Anderson, Chris Haynes, Orville Herndon, Dr. Marcie Hinton, Gross Magee, Brent Norsworthy, Dr. Debbie Owens, Dr. Kevin Qualls, Dr. Melony Shemberger, Elizabeth Thomas, Robert Valentine, and Gill Welsch.

Outside professionals assisting in the workshop included: Debbie Battinger, The Paris Post-Intelligencer, Andrew Buhler, Jostens; Shelley Street Byrne, The Mayfield Messenger; Jeremy McKeel, MSU Digital Media Services; and Dana Statton, MSU Libraries.

According to Workshop Director Leigh Wright, the 2018 High School Media Workshop is scheduled for Sept. 28.

Comments are closed.

Posted on 05 January 2018 by jmcjournal

Categorized | JMC Dept.